Homemade Pico de Gallo with a Twist

When we make chicken or steak fajitas, we love to make a large batch of Pico de Gallo to enjoy with it.  You can add it to your fajitas or eat it as a dip with some tortilla chips.  My husband learned this recipe from a former coworker many years ago and we’ve adapted it to our family’s taste over the years (and depending on what produce is available in my fridge at the time!).  I gave a sneak peek of this recipe on my personal Instagram a few days ago, so by request, here’s the recipe.  (You can follow us on Instagram @ourlittlewaysblog).

IMG_3909

Here’s what you need:

1-2 Avocados
1 Bellpepper
1 Onion
1-2 Tomatoes
1 Lime (or lime juice) *I used 2 drops of Young Living Lime Essential Oil instead*
Fresh Cilantro
Salt
Pepper

I always use a large Pyrex bowl with a matching cover to make Pico de Gallo so that I can make it ahead of time, cover it, and pop it in the fridge until we are ready to eat.  This “recipe” is fairly easy because all you have to do is chop everything up, season, and mix!

IMG_3912

1.) Chop avocados, bell pepper, onion, and tomatoes into small pieces.  Cut up a handful of cilantro.  Add all to the bowl.

2.) Add the juice of one lime (you can also add the pulp), or you can simply use a few squirts of lime juice, or you can do what I did and use only 2 drops of Young Living Lime Essential Oil (so fresh and yummy!).

3.) Salt and Pepper to taste and then mix everything together!!

4.) Enjoy on your favorite Mexican dish or with a bowl full of tortilla chips!

IMG_3914

As with any recipe, you can make changes according to your taste.  For instance, I love avocados, but not tomatoes, so I usually put less tomato and more avocado.  I also don’t like spicy foods, so I don’t add jalapenos, but I know plenty of people that love a chopped up jalapeno in their Pico de Gallo.

So did you try it? How was it? Did you make any changes to customize the recipe for yourself? Let me know in the comments.

–Brandi

One thought on “Homemade Pico de Gallo with a Twist

Leave a Reply

