What’s Cooking? Fajitas

This day I cooked chicken fajitas, but you can use beef, shrimp, or if you want a meatless choice, use mushrooms in place of the meat.

Preparations:
First, you  will need about 12 ounces of bell peppers.  I used my bag of frozen fajita sliced peppers from the freezer and this saved me some prepping time. (refer to previous posts- What’s in the Garden? – Bell Peppers and What’s in the Garden? Banana Peppers ).  Since I still have peppers growing in my garden, I will return the empty freezer bag to the freezer and the next time I harvest more peppers this year, I will fill the bag again.

Next, you will need 1 large onion sliced into thin wedges.  I did not have any onions prepared in my freezer so I had to take a little extra time to slice it now.

2fajita-onion-sliced
Then, I chopped 2 large chicken breast (about 1 and 1/2 pounds of chicken) into slices.  I placed the chicken into a bowl and added 1 tablespoon of olive oil and 1 tablespoon of fajita seasoning.  I make my own seasoning and will share that on my next post.
3-fajita-cut-chicken
If you don’t have fajita seasoning you can add 1/3 teaspoon of each of the following seasonings: salt, onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, cumin, chili powder, oregano, and cilantro (if you don’t like cilantro you  can leave it out).

4-fajita-seasoned
Cooking:
I like to use a black iron skillet when cooking fajitas.  I place the skillet on the stove and turn the heat to high.  I let my skillet get hot and then add 1 tablespoon of olive oil and about 1/3 of the strips of chicken to the skillet and allow them to brown.  When they are browned on one side, I turn them over and brown the other side.  Then I remove them from the pan.

The drippings in the pan will be a nice brown color.  I add 1 tablespoon of olive oil and this time I add 1/3 of the onion and bell peppers.  The moisture  in the veggies helps to deglaze the pan and seasons them.  When they have cooked to our desired texture (some like them crunchy some like them soft), I remove them and add them to the cooked chicken. If you tend to like your veggies cooked more on the soft side, you  may have to add a tablespoon of water at a time to allow them to cook down without burning.

I repeat these two steps until all of the chicken and veggies are cooked.  Then I return all the chicken and veggies to the skillet, taste and add more fajita seasoning if desired.
11-fajita-done
Serve:
Most fajitas are served on tortillas, but we eat ours on a lettuce leaf.  If you are trying to eat low carb or paleo, lettuce leaves will work for you.  My final step was to add some guacamole and shredded cheddar cheese.
12-fajita-served
It is time to refill my fajita seasoning jar, so I will share that on my next post.

–Penny

5 thoughts on “What’s Cooking? Fajitas

Leave a Reply

