DIY Homemade Fajita Seasoning Mix

In the past, when I planned to cook fajitas, I would buy that little packet of fajita seasoning mix at the grocery store.  That changed a couple of years ago as I progressed in my journey to simplify my life and aim to eat more unprocessed food.  Why was I buying a packet of seasoning mix when all the basic seasonings in that packet were in my spice cabinet?  Convenience?  Besides, making my own mix allowed me to control the ingredients and avoid preservatives and fillers.  Even the spices in my cabinet have changed over time.  As I use the last of a spice from the jar, I replace it with an organic version.  The first change I made was replacing the box of white salt with organic Himalayan pink salt.  Now most of the spices in my cabinet are organic.  I am also finding that the flavor and aroma are stronger and more satisfying.

I make this mix one cup at a time.  There are about 16 tablespoons in a cup, so I use two tablespoons of  each of the following:

salt
onion powder
garlic powder
paprika
cumin
chili powder
oregano
cilantro
homemade-fajita-season-mix-ingredients
Considering that most fajita seasoning mix packets contain 2 teaspoons of seasonings, and 1 cup is equal to 48 teaspoons,  I will cook fajitas many times before making another batch.  Now that is time saving and convenient!  Besides, less time in the kitchen leaves more time for gathering blessings from the garden-like eggplants.

–Penny

Leave a Reply

