What’s Cooking? Cauliflower Mash

At the end of my last post (What’s cooking-stuffed peppers) I promised to share my recipe for cauliflower mash.

Preparations:
First cut one head of cauliflower into pieces, wash and place them into a pot with a steamer basket and 1 cup of water.  Cover the pot and place it on the stove on high heat.  Steam the cauliflower until tender.  Then drain the cauliflower.

Next, add 4 tablespoons of butter, ¼ cup of milk,  ½ teaspoon of salt, and a couple of slices of  cheese (I used pepper jack cheese).  I used my immersion blender to puree the cauliflower.  If  you don’t have an immersion blender, you can use a food processor, blender or good old potato masher.

Now spoon this mixture into a buttered baking dish and top with more cheese.  Once again I choose to use sliced pepper jack cheese.  For a little more flavor, I cooked two slices of turkey bacon and then sliced it into thin strips that I added on top of the cheese.

Cooking:
Lastly,  bake in oven at 350 degrees Fahrenheit until cheese on top is melted and lightly brown.  I hope you enjoy.

–Penny

cauliflower-mash

4 thoughts on “What’s Cooking? Cauliflower Mash

Leave a Reply

