What’s Cooking? Stuffed Eggplant

Last week in my What’s in the Garden Post , I shared that my eggplants were still producing.  I harvested three large eggplants to make stuffed eggplants.

whole-eggplants
Preparations:
First I washed and placed them on a towel to dry.  Then I cut them in half and scooped out the flesh of the eggplant and put in in a colander with salt to rest for a while.  I also sprinkled salt on the inside of the shell of the eggplant.  The salt helps draw out some of the water and bitterness.

I then heated a tablespoon of olive oil in a large skillet, and added ½ a cup of onions, ¼ cup of bell peppers and ¼ cup of celery.  After a few minutes, I added a pound of ground meat.  While the meat was browning, I rinsed the salt off of the eggplant in the colander.   When the meat was browned, I added a can of tomato sauce and the eggplant.  I added about a ½ teaspoon of salt, ½ teaspoon of garlic powder,  and ¼ teaspoon of red pepper.  Season according to your taste.  I allowed this mixture to cook until  tender.

Then I added ½ cup of  quinoa and  ¾ cup of mozzarella cheese.   You can substitute rice for the quinoa or leave it out altogether.

Finally, I rinsed the salt off of the eggplant shells and dried them with a paper towel.  Then I coated both sides of the eggplants with olive oil and placed them onto a baking sheet.  I stuffed each eggplant half with the filling and sprinkled mozzarella cheese on top.

add-cheese-on-top-and-cook

Cooking:
Lastly, I baked them in the oven, at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.  Since the filling is already cooked, you just need to cook until the cheese is melted and lightly browned.

stuffed-eggplant

With the Christmas holidays in a couple of weeks and lots of parties and dinners to attend or host, you might want to try this recipe.  Enjoy.

–Penny

Leave a Reply

