Over the Door Gift Wrap Organization

We are almost done with our Christmas shopping!! My secret? Black Friday shopping online.  I love the deals offered on Black Friday every year, but now that we have two little ones at home, it just doesn’t make sense for us to go out shopping on Black Friday morning.  Thankfully, most of the deals are still available online with FREE SHIPPING! (Y’all know I love a good deal).  Between that and Amazon Prime, let’s just say that we keep our postal workers busy here.  Our kids are also having lots of fun with all the empty boxes. Anyways, now that most of the packages have been delivered, it’s time to wrap presents!! While I do already love wrapping presents, the gift wrap organizer that I set up about five years ago does make it so much easier!!

In the past (pre-kids), I’d set aside a Saturday afternoon to sit down with a hot cup of coffee (or a glass of wine), some Christmas music, maybe even a fire in the fireplace if it was cold enough, and I’d wrap all of the presents we had purchased that Christmas.  Yes, all at one time.  This is extremely unrealistic for me these days.  It’s more like wrap whatever two or three gifts got delivered today while the baby takes a nap and I keep the four year old entertained by allowing him to help or giving him a few pieces of tape here and there with a piece of paper and a few crayons or markers.  This is where the gift wrap organizer is even nicer than in years past.  I can quickly and easily graph whichever wrapping paper I will be using this naptime, a pair of scissors, and a roll of tape.  I even have the gift labels, ribbon, and bows at easy access without having to take out a box of supplies, digging through it, and then returning everything when I’m done.  All I need are a few supplies and a nice open space (like the dining room table) to get my wrapping for the day done.foyer-over-door-organizer

I actually got the idea for this gift wrap organizer from an old issue of Better Homes and Gardens (as in back in 2011 before my children were born).  The general idea is to hang a wire organizer over the back of the door, but instead of installing all the shelves that come with it, only install the upper shelves and then leave the bottom space mostly empty for wrapping paper.  The upper shelves are then used for ribbon, tape, scissors, bows, gift tags, etc.

I was able to use a wire-rack organizer that I had from my college apartment days (used to have it in the bathroom closet for all my hair products, blow dryer, flat iron, makeup, etc).  All you have to do is simply hang it up and fill it with gift wrapping supplies, so it is an easy afternoon project once you have the supplies.  I purchased my organizer many many years ago at Walmart near the clothes hampers, hangers, irons, etc.  I’m sure some of you are super shoppers that could find one at TJ Maxx, Home Goods, Marshalls, Big Lots, etc.  If you are more of an online shopper, there’s always good old Amazon to depend on.  Here’s some similar wire-rack organizers I found:

ClosetMaid Door Rack

Pro-Mart DAZZ Over Door Organizer

The important part is that you choose one where you can adjust the shelves to different places so they can accommodate gift wrap rolls, smaller ribbon spools, etc. If you don’t have lots of wrapping supplies, you might be able to get away with a smaller organizer.
Not as difficult as it seems, don’t you think?
What do you do for your gift wrap organization?  I know there are more elaborate systems out there, share yours!
–Brandi
gift-wrap-organizer-1
2 thoughts on “Over the Door Gift Wrap Organization

Leave a Reply

