What’s Cooking? Easy Egg Rolls

Happy New Year.  Growing up it was a tradition for my family to eat black-eyed peas and smothered cabbage on New Years Day.  The cabbage’s green color represented hope for wealth in the new year and the black-eyed peas represented good luck.  As a child and young adult, I didn’t like beans or cabbage so I quickly ate one spoonful of each, like taking a spoonful of medicine.

Since then I now enjoy eating cabbage and beans and even keep the tradition of cabbage and black-eyed peas on New Years Day.  I make a hot black-eyed peas and cheese dip as an appetizer and for the main dish, I cook my easy egg rolls.  My family enjoys these so much that as you can see in my pictures, I tripled the recipe.

Ingredients
1 pound of ground meat (your choice of beef, pork, chicken ,etc.)
1 pound of chopped cabbage or skip the chopping and use 1 bag of coleslaw
1 teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon cayenne pepper
½ teaspoon garlic
1 Tablespoon sesame oil
Egg roll wrappers

Directions:

Brown ground meat. Drain all liquid and return to pot.

Add remaining ingredients and cook until cabbage is tender.

Taste and add more seasoning to meet personal preference.
cooked-mixed-ground-meat-and-cabbage
Drain and allow to cool completely.

To roll the egg roll:  Place a egg roll wrapper diagonally on flat surface.  Wet outer edges of wrapper with a little water.  Place ¼ cup of filling in lower half of each wrapper.

eggroll-wrapper-step-1
Fold bottom corner of wrapper over the filling and tuck under.  Then fold both side corners toward the center until it looks like an envelope.

Roll up to close wrapper. Continue with the rest of the wrappers and filling.
eggroll-wrapper-step-4
Deep fry at 350 degrees Fahrenheit until golden brown.  Drain on paper towel.  These will be very hot so allow them to cool before eating.

This year instead of deep frying the egg rolls, I used my new air fryer.  They came out very crunchy and we were pleased that we fried all of them with only a tablespoon of oil.
easy-eggroll-fried
I pray that 2017 is a year filled with good health, wealth, happiness, faith and the love of family and friends.

–Penny

4 thoughts on “What’s Cooking? Easy Egg Rolls

  1. i find the egg roll wrappers in the produce section of major grocery stores. I have made my own wrappers a couple of years ago. I wanted to see how difficult it was to make. It wasn’t super hard but it did take some time and made a little mess. It is easier to buy but I like knowing that if I ever have trouble finding them I can still make egg rolls. I do want to try it with spring roll wrappers since they are thinner. I am curious to see which rolls I prefer. Let me know when you make yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

