Aiming for a Healthier Lifestyle: Sharing Meals

Was your goal for 2017 to live a healthier lifestyle?  It’s the end of January.  Have you found yourself wanting to give up on your goal?  In this post, I want to share something that has helped me.

In my quest to eat healthier, I began to research ways to eat healthier.  One article would tell me to cut out fat.  One article said eats lots of fats.  For every article I read supporting a certain way of eating, there was an article telling me to do the opposite.  I was so confused.  One day in my confusion I sought my answer not in articles, but in prayer.  How do I know what I should eat?  I felt my answer was clear.  My little way to healthier eating was to eat what God created.

Now if you are thinking that from that day forward I gave up all processed “junk foods” and am a perfect example of healthy living, you would be disappointed.  I struggle just like most people.  If I could eat anything I wanted and it was healthy and inexpensive, what would I eat?   I would probably eat out everyday.  I would want to order these foods:  pizza, pastas, fried chicken, fajitas, quesadillas, burgers, fried rice, lo mein, just to name a few.  Today, my lifestyle is better than it was a couple of years ago and I feel like I do get to eat out two times a week.  I do this by sharing meals.

What do I mean by sharing meals?  Well, at the same time that I was searching for healthier ways to eat, a close friend of mine was on the same search.  About this time, a family member of hers was diagnosed with kidney disease.  That is when the idea came to me: Let’s share meals.  I would cook on Mondays and Wednesdays and she would cook on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  However, if this was going to work the food had to not only be healthy but it had keep us from feeling deprived of our favorite foods.  It has been about a year and a half since we began sharing meals.  We have made some changes.  We now buy as much organic foods as we can afford and we no longer have a certain day to cook.  In fact, we often cook and deliver the meals on the weekend.  This keeps our refrigerator stocked with prepared meals and helps us to eat healthier.

The best part is that I do eat pizza, pasta, fajitas, quesadillas, fried rice, lo mein and even “fried foods”.  These are, of course, healthier versions that you can find in these blog posts:

cauliflower pizza, cauliflower-pizza-finished-product

fajitas, 12-fajita-served

stuffed peppers,
img_5146

cauliflower mash,
cauliflower-mash

cauliflower fried rice, and sweet and spicy veggie stir fry.

bowl of cooked stir fry with cauliflower fried rice

These recipes have helped keep my taste buds satisfied and I do not feel deprived.   As I continue my little way to a healthier lifestyle, I will post not only more recipes but other little changes that I am making.

–Penny

 

 

15 thoughts on “Aiming for a Healthier Lifestyle: Sharing Meals

  1. Really enjoy reading all of you and Brandi’s post. Your recipes and ways of turning what we love to eat into healthy recipes is wounderful! Thanks to you both for taking time out to share with others!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great post! I am a nutritionist and I just started my own blog about healthy and affordable eating, so feel free to check it out! 🙂 Also I am here for any nutrition-related question you may have, I totally agree that there is too much information out there and it becomes hard to find the right way to eat. That’s why I will be posting about a lot of nutrition facts and topics, to help people make their own choices. I don’t like to tell people what to eat, I want people to feel happy with whatever they like to eat but Knowing what they are putting into their bodies and the effects that each food will have on their health. Good luck with your journey! Monica x

    Like

  3. Good Luck on your new blog. I might try your zucchini with a Broccoli, Basil and Cashews Pesto. I make the zucchini noodles also. It tastes just like pasta to me, but I love that I am eating another veggie. I love pesto and have heard about using broccoli in the sauce but haven’t tried it yet. In my last post I shared that I had planted my basil. When it grows I will try the broccoli and basil pesto.

    Like

Leave a Reply

