What’s Cooking? Zucchini Pizza Bites

In my last post I wrote about how “sharing meals” with a friend has helped me eat healthier meals.  What do I do when I need a quick and easy healthy meal for lunch? Years ago, I would have gone to the freezer and pulled out a box of those bagel pizza bites.  I no longer keep those in my freezer. Instead, at the beginning of the week, I slice a couple of zucchini and store them in a container in the refrigerator.  I also always keep mozzarella cheese and pizza sauce in the fridge or freezer.  When I am hungry,  I grab the zucchini, cheese, and sauce.  For toppings I use sausage, ham, or leftover chicken or veggies.  Because I keep these prepped and available, it doesn’t take any longer than those frozen pizza bites used to take.  I feel just as satisfied and no guilt since I have made a healthier choice.

Ingredients:
Zucchini
Pizza Sauce
Mozzarella cheese
Optional toppings  (I use sliced smoked sausage)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit
Line baking sheet with parchment paper to make cleanup easier
Slice zucchini ¼ inch thick.  Slice sausage.

Line zucchini on parchment paper.  Spread pizza sauce on top of each zucchini slice

zucchini-slices-with-pizza-sauce-and-mozzarella
Top with mozzarella cheese.  Add sausage or other topping.

add-toppings-to-zucchini-pizza-bites
Bake for 5 to 10 minutes or until cheese is golden brown.

zucchini-pizza-bites-in-oven
Let cool a little.  Enjoy!

If you like your zucchini tenderer, you can bake them for 5 minutes before adding the toppings.  I like thin and crispy pizzas so I like my zucchini with a little crunch.  Adjust the baking time to suit your preference.

–Penny

zucchini-pizza-bites

3 thoughts on “What’s Cooking? Zucchini Pizza Bites

  1. I keep the sauce and cheese in the freezer, and the zucchini in the refrigerator. I have frozen shredded zucchini for zucchini bread and it was very watery when defrosted. It still worked for the zucchini bread but I don’t think the sliced zucchini would do well in the freezer. I usually use up the sliced zucchini within the week. I hope this helps.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

