What’s in the Garden? Zucchini and Crookneck Squash

The zucchini plants have grown a lot in the past month.  Big yellow flowers began appearing and the honey bees have been busy spreading the pollen from flower to flower.  I have enjoyed my morning strolls in the garden watching the tiny zucchini grow larger each day.  This week I began harvesting zucchini and crookneck squash from my garden.  Oh, the joys of springtime in the garden!

I have only harvested twice this week and I have harvested more than I usually purchase each week.  This plentiful  harvest is now saving me about ten dollars a week and has given me the pleasure of sharing with family.

Yesterday my family gathered together to celebrate Easter and it was rewarding to share the first fruits from the garden.  I sliced the zucchini and crookneck squash, seasoned with salt and pepper, drizzled with olive oil and grilled them on the pit.  What a yummy side dish.  If you would like more recipes on how to cook zucchini, refer to these previous posts: zucchini pizza bites, and zucchini squash lasagna.  In future post I will share more recipes of other ways I cook lasagna, including yummy desserts.

–Penny

One thought on “What’s in the Garden? Zucchini and Crookneck Squash

Leave a Reply

