What’s Cooking? Stuffed Zucchini

In a past post, (What’s in the Garden? Zucchini) I shared my joy in harvesting more zucchini than we needed.  This abundance has allowed me to share with 3 families in the past two weeks.  I am feeling truly blessed.

Today, I want to keep my promise to you, and share another zucchini recipe.  This time I am cooking easy stuffed zucchini.  The first step is always the same.  Wash the zucchini.  (My Journey to a Chemical Free Lifestyle: DIY Veggie Wash)  Next, slice the zucchini in half lengthwise and core out the centers.  Rub the cored zucchini with olive oil and place on a baking sheet.


Place the zucchini that you cored out in a skillet with olive oil.  Cook until tender and let cool completely.

Now take your favorite fresh sausage and remove from the casing.  Today, I am using some jalapeno deer sausage that a friend gave us.  Mix this sausage with the cooked zucchini that you allowed to cool completely.

Place this mixture into the center of the cored zucchini and bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit.    When the zucchini begin to soften, I flip to the other side.  I continue cooking and flipping a couple of times until cooked.  Then I top the cooked zucchini with my favorite cheese (Pepper Jack).  Once the cheese melts, I remove from the oven and serve.  Enjoy!

–Penny

Stuffed Zucchini Finished Product

One thought on “What’s Cooking? Stuffed Zucchini

Leave a Reply

