DIY Chocolate Covered Strawberries

For Mother’s Day this year, my husband surprised me with an order of the yummiest, most beautiful chocolate covered strawberries.  My two little ones noticed what I received, and since they love chocolate and strawberries, they each asked for one.  I did share a bite with each of them, but I ultimately told them these were Mommy’s strawberries.  This lead to my five year old immediately asking if we could make some of our own with the strawberries that I had in the fridge.  I agreed, and here we are with a new blog post for you. 🙂


Ingredients:
Strawberries
Chocolate (could be chocolate chips, chocolate squares, leftover chocolate Easter bunny…)
*You will also need a sheet of wax paper*

Steps:

1.) Rinse the strawberries and set aside to dry.

2.) If you are using any kind of chocolate that is larger than chocolate chips, cut it up into smaller pieces.  Then melt the chocolate.  I melted it in the microwave in 15 second intervals, but you could also use a double boiler.

3.) While the chocolate is still melted, roll each strawberry around until covered, then place on a wax-paper lined baking sheet or plate.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries on Wax Paper

4.) Once all strawberries have been covered in chocolate, place in the freezer to harden.  (You may have to continue to melt the chocolate in between every few strawberries depending on how many you have as the chocolate will start to harden again over time).

These were a hit with my two kiddos, but could also be used as gifts for a loved one.  Let me know how this recipe worked out for you.

–Brandi

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

 

Leave a Reply

