Our Little Life Hack #1:  Simplify Trash Takeout Day

Welcome to our new series: Our Little Life Hacks!  Check back each week for a quick trick or tip to simplify and improve your life. Remember, little steps help us to stick with a new change or habit.  

So I’ll start off this new series with a rather simple hack.  I like to get at least one more use out of the plastic grocery bags I get each week from our shopping trips, so I use them as trash bags or liners for my small bathroom trash cans. This also saves me from buying those specialty small-size trash bags. (#frugalliving) We also have a small trash can in the nursery since our youngest child is not fully potty-trained yet, so I use the bags there too. (Smaller trash can means it gets emptied often, hence less smells.  We can count that as a bonus tip! haha)


After unloading all the groceries on our weekly shopping trip, I grab the pile of grocery bags and head to the bathroom to empty the trash.  Once emptied, I place an extra bag at the bottom of the empty pail before attaching the new bag.  That way, next time I empty the trash can before my next weekly grocery shopping trip, I don’t have to go get a new bag to line it. Timesaver!

Bonus tip:  Since it’s our first Little Life Hack, here’s a bonus tip: add a drop of Young Living Purification essential oil to a cotton ball and add it to the bottom of the pail also.  No more odors!

Check back here next week for another Little Life Hack!

–Brandi

Don’t forget to share with your friends and pin the image below:

One thought on “Our Little Life Hack #1:  Simplify Trash Takeout Day

Leave a Reply

